General Information

Bhutan is officially known as “the Kingdom of Bhutan.” The National Anthem is Druk Tsendhen. Thimphu is the Capital and largest city in Bhutan. Dzongkha is National Language of Bhutan. Bhutan has the Unitary Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy form of Government. The King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck is the Fifth King of Bhutan and he looks after the state affairs. The Prime Minister is head of government and looks after the day to day functioning of the government. Lyonchen Tshering Tobgay is the present Prime Minister for Bhutan.

We have two House: Parliament, the Upper house is National Council and National Assembly as Lower house. Every year Bhutan celebrates 17th December as National day because in December 17, 1907, the Wangchuck Dynasty was established in Bhutan to look after the Kingdom of Bhutan.

Bhutan has the area of 38,394 square km and with population of 6, 34,982 as per the Population and Housing Census conducted in 30th and 31st May, 2005. Ngultrum is National Currency of Bhutan. The Bhutanese has been following the Mahayana form of Tibetan Buddhism particularly the Nyingma and Drukpa Kagyue Sect.