Geography & History

Bhutan is located between People’s Republic of China in the north and Republic of India in south. It is located at 27°25′01″   north and 90°26′06″ east. Bhutan has the area of 38,392

In the Ancient Bhutanese and Tibetans chronicles, it is believed that Bhutan was inhabited as early as 2000 B.C. due to the discovery of early stone tools, weapons, elephants, and remnants of large stone structures in the regions of Bhutan.

Historians have theorized that the Lhomon (literally, "southern darkness"), or Monyul (Land of Darkness” that have existed between 500 BC and AD 600. There are various names originally referred for Bhutan such as Lho Mon Tsenden Jong (Sandalwood Country),  Lho Jong, ‘The Valleys of the South’, and Lho Mon Kha Zhi (The country of four approaches), have been found in ancient Bhutanese and Tibetan chronicles.

In 17th Century, the country came to be known as "Druk Yul” The Land of the Drukpas. The name refers to the Drukpa Kagyu sect of Tibetan Buddhism that has been the dominant religion in the region since that period which was established by Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel “Father of Unification of Bhutan”

Bonism has dominated Bhutan till the establishment of Buddhism by the Tibetan King Songtsen Gampo in 7th century and with the arrival of Guru Rinpoche, in 746 A.D who established the Dzogchen tradition (Nyingma Sect) of Buddhism.

In the 17th century Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel came to Bhutan from Tibet. Zhabdrung Rinpoche consolidated his power, defeated three Tibetan invasions and established the Theocratic form of governance. There was comprehensive system of law. He unified the country as one nation. But after the death of Zhabdrung, the country got into civil war between the various local Lords.

There was civil wars till the Trongsa Poenlop Ugyen Wangchuck was able to gain power and control and with the support of the people. There was the establishment of Bhutan’s first hereditary King in 1907. Sir Ugyen Wangchuck became the first Dragon King and Wangchuck dynasty became destined rulers for Bhutan. The peace and progress has been maintaining under the guidance of Successive Kings.

In 2008 Bhutan became the Constitutional Democratic Form of Government where it is guide by the Constitution of Bhutan.  In the same year The Crown Prince Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck was crowned as the 5th Dragon King of Bhutan.