Political System

The first Political systems started with the establishment of the Theocratic Systems of government by Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel in 17th Century. After the death of Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel in 1951, Bhutan was ruled by Desi (Temporal Rulers) for about 256 years till the establishment of Hereditatery Monarchy in 1907.

With establishment of hereditary monarchy in Bhutan, there was constant peace, progress, under the successive monarchs. The 3rd king Jigme Dorji Wangchuck established National Assembly in 1953, where he introduced representative form of government. Under the guidance of 4th King Jigme Singye Wangchuck introduced Decentralization process and he encouraged People’s Participation.

In 2001, Fourth King commanded to draft the constitution for Bhutan. In 2005, there was public consultation headed by 4th and 5th King with people of Bhutan in various places.

After the Public consultation, there was major change in the Bhutanese Political System with the introduction of Constitutional democratic form of government in 2008. Today Bhutan has Constitutional Democratic Form of government.